PDA

View Full Version : Shock Problems??

itsallgood
10-11-2004, 07:50 PM
Okay, here's the scoop... I just purchased this 400 and took it out yesterday to play around. I noticed the front end sit a lot lower than a friend of mines. With the weight of the quad only, the frame (where the bottom of the bumper attaches) is sitting at 10" from the ground. It doesn't really like to take rough stuff that good either. They are supposed to be pep zps shocks. They only have two coils on each of them, aren't there supposed to be three coils? I'm new to the honda world, and the suspension world. I've been drag racing banshee's for the past 6 years and haven't had the need for much suspension...

Anyway, the measurements I have are as follows:

Eye-2-Eye: 15 1/8" (Suspended on a jack stand)
Eye-2-Eye: 14 5/8" (With Quad Weight Only)
Eye-2-Eye: 14 1/2" (With Quad and Rider)

Attached is also a picture of it looking from the front...

http://www.nemr.net/~bray/honda/DSC00322.JPG
http://www.nemr.net/~bray/honda/DSC00324.JPG

nemesis
10-11-2004, 10:21 PM
That is a dual rate shock. The lower a arm is not stock either.

itsallgood
10-12-2004, 05:49 AM
Yeah, I forgot to mention they are Leager +2/+1 A-arms...
How can you tell the difference between the dual and tripple rate shocks? Just by the springs? Won't the tripple rate shocks work w/o the third spring on top, and look the same way? I'm just curious, but that still doesn't answer why they are so short?

nemesis
10-12-2004, 09:19 AM
Look at the angle of your a arms compared to stock. You have aftermarket suspension that was meant to be wider and shorter.

itsallgood
10-12-2004, 04:00 PM