PDA

View Full Version : Crow callin

400exrules
09-22-2004, 02:38 PM
I hunt just about anythin that flies, with some of my friends (black birds, kildee, field larks, dove, crows, buzzards, etc.), and i decided to get a crow call the other day cuz we see alot of crows but they wont come in. And im new to using any kind of call whether it be crow, duck etc. the back of the package for the crow call said breathe through your diaphram......and that throws me off. I dont know how to do this right so i get the correct sound. It sounds fine when u just blow through it normal but i dont think it works that well on the crows

anyone other hunters have any tips?

FourFiftyFour
09-22-2004, 05:36 PM
i used to have the saying if it flies it dies.....and i was a damn good crow caller....... I would give the call a blow that was short but pretty strong, sorta like if you were running and short of breath...but make sure you vary your calls, rally calls are a bit more close together and shorter, and longer caws are not as exciting to them....but dont fall into a pattern or they will learn...... when you get good enough to call them, you will usually see one crow come in...hes the ranger, if you shoot him then usually the others will come looking for him

Pappy
09-22-2004, 06:38 PM
get a few crow decoys and an owl decoy. works like a champ. we use this set up during dove season to break up the boredom when the doves dont fly and we dump many a crow!

400exrules
09-22-2004, 06:51 PM
yeah, i read on www.crowbusters.com that owl statues work like magic, a crow just cant resist seein one.

i understand about the length of the calls and to change it up and stuff, i just want to make sure im blowin in the call right, it says us your diaphram but i dunno if i am when i blow in it or not...?:confused: i dont want it to sound like a messed up crow and scare em off

FourFiftyFour
09-22-2004, 06:59 PM
Originally posted by 400exrules