PDA

View Full Version : first time clutch rebuild

fastmofo
09-21-2004, 09:16 PM
Hello, im new to the forums, got a 96 300ex. My clutch is starting to get week in it, Lurches a little bit when you pull the clutch in, and sometimes hard to get in neutral when running. I ordered a clutch kit, and plan on installing it this weekend.

My questions are, this is my first time doing a clutch. i am Experienced on motor rebuilds, and such, basically this is my first 4 stroke and never had to do a clutch. So,
Aproximently how long should i be looking at to rebuild the clutch in hours?

IS there any special tools i will need?

And Any tips or tricks to help make it smoother?

I bought new friction plates, seperators, steel plates, and springs, so the whole kit if that helps at all

thanks

4TraxRider
09-21-2004, 09:50 PM
It's really pretty easy. I haven't done a 300ex, but I've looked at my brothers and it's about the same as my old 400ex's and Z and and many others. Really, an hour should be more than enough. One tip that you must follow, is to make sure the quad is extremely clean, any dirt that falls in while you have the side case off goes directly into you engines internal parts. Also, some plates need to be soaked in oil before installation, but i haven't seen that warning in a while. Just to make sure, your cable is adjusted correctly and everything, and your clutch arm isn't bent right?

fastmofo
09-22-2004, 01:21 PM
ok thanks, Just have to wait tell the clutch comes in the mail, and ill let you know how everything goes

thanks

44oEX
09-22-2004, 01:35 PM
yeah like he said it's pretty easy.

you have to soke the all the plates in oil cause if you don't they won't slip when you start it.

Aceman
09-22-2004, 06:49 PM