PDA

View Full Version : Z probs

4TraxRider
09-14-2004, 02:40 PM
My Z has some kind of electrical problem. It never has any juice from the batter, but will start on a charger.(Tried several good batteries). It will only rev up about to about the same point as the reverse rev limiter, but runs fine on a 6 volt charger or with the lights off. I think it's the altenator, but I'm not sure due to the fact that I'm not very good with electrical things. Any ideas on what it would be would be great, and also if you know how hard it is to do. Thanks a lot.

Billdog350
09-15-2004, 07:08 AM
4trax, I believe my z400 sometimes seems to have a rev limiter when its in neutral that is lower than the usual rev limiter...however I don't have any charging problems.

From the sounds of it, you CDI isn't getting enough "juice" (voltage) and that is why your machine is cutting out. If you battery is fried, it could be shorting out your electrical system and/or ruining your charging system. I'm not sure if the Z has a fuse in the charging system, but look under the seat for any solenoids or fuses that might be blown or not working. Also, replace the battery with a good one...running your machine without a battery is extremely bad for it, and using a shorted out one is just as bad. Make sure to buy a trickle charger and charge the new battery for whatever time they recommend, I think at leats 24 hrs. Automotive chargers will charge the battery at too high of an amperage and shorten the life of the battery. Also, NEVER run your machine on the charger with the 6 volt setting.....thats just not a good idea. Lower voltage means higher amperage draw. Higher amperage means melted parts or fried electrical system.

4TraxRider
09-16-2004, 01:06 PM