PDA

View Full Version : Must do upgrades?

EricB
04-08-2002, 06:52 PM
ok in about 5 months i'll have about 6000 dollars or so maybe lil more. but i plan to buy a brand new 400ex, cash =).

anyhow whats a must do for general preformance upgrades? im guessing prooly exhaust, maybe a sproket depending on what kind of riding you do, then jetting? also air filter, that sort of thing, basic preformance upgrades. i've been stewing over what quad to get for about 3 months now, it was between a raptor or an ex. pretty much hands down its the ex, the handling legendary reliblity, and its just a honda! only thing i dont like about the honda is the power plant, granted its a great engine that is well engineerd and designed, but its displacement isn't all that big. i meen a 400 4 stroke isn't to big, does anyone know if honda plans to come out with something to compete with the ds650 and the raptor? larger 4 engine? I'm pretty sure i understand honda's thinking though with this bike, its basicly got a great running 400 4 stroke engine on a typicly smaller setup than larger big bore quads. but are they going to come out with just some more flat out power?

from what i've read and heard they dont. so what am i looking at doing to get the max preformance out of my ex, when i get it =P