PDA

View Full Version : carbs - 39mm or air stryker?

Westro
08-31-2004, 12:34 PM
Folks I need some help.

I am coming from a Banshee and have had my R for a year. So, my R when I bought it had (has) a 39mm carb on it. I am thinking that it is a little large.

So, would a 38mm air stryker help me out? Seems like the bike doesn't have decent mid range and stumbles on it's self. But with a clutch slip I can get it up in the RPM's and keep it on the pipe.

I guess I haven't ridden a properly jetted/tuned R and am looking for some advice on 38mm vs 39mm carbs.

I also might be having trouble with the reeds. The previous owner said it was eating reeds. There is a V force block in there with carbon fiber reeds. Is there a difference between the CR blocks and the R blocks? And how can you tell. I think I remeber the dumb *** telling me that he put a CR block in the R I bought. But there is no identification numbers on the V force to look up and see.

Well thanks, I am new to the R world. Lots of seat time on the twin two strokes and CR dirt bikes.

:devil:

310Rduner
08-31-2004, 05:19 PM
If it is a cr cage then it is definately to blame for the reed snapping problem. Get rid of the cr cage and pick one up for the R. As far as carbs the 39mm will definately flow more on the top end, but you will lose a little bit of the bottom end because it has a lower velocity. Depending on the purpose of the bike ie: woods -low mid, or general midrange you will want to go with different carb and porting. For woods riding I would look at stock 34mm, and 35mm carbs. For all around a 38mm probably wouldn't be too much if your motor is reasonably built. I wouldn't go to 39 unless you plan on extensive porting, and a higher powerband.

velocityatv
08-31-2004, 05:58 PM