PDA

View Full Version : keep throwing chain! help

2ltrmirage
08-30-2004, 06:14 PM
im just getting into mx , ive raced about 10 races now and no problems until this weekend.

my chain isnt to tight or to loose, but 2 times this weekend when i landed a decent sized jump my chain came off.

what do i need to do so this stops happining? i can get it back on and its fine, but im scared that everytime i jump it may do it agian.

heres another thing i cant figure out, and its driving me crazy.

i adjust the chain and it will be equil on the little marks, but the adjuster bolt thing on the left side of the quad seems to hang out a little past the part of the swing arm it sets agianst. in order for me to get it to set in, the marks on the other side will be way off. so i get the marks equil and and just deal with the one hanging out cause i cant figure it out. i tighten everything realy good and go ride. as i ride after a few laps i notice that the right side adjuster marks arent lined up with the left side anymore. somthing keeps moving and i cannot get the left side to set right.

i have a race comming up and cant figure this out for anything.

redrider9045
08-31-2004, 05:39 AM
hey man i dont know really the problem but i had a 300ex and every time i came around a corner and spun to much my chain would pop off and i landed a table top and my chain came off again happend many times but i found out that the carrier bearings were craked and the carrirer im talking about the swingarm were the axle inserts my carrier was cracke to got a new one and never happend again also there to diffrent machines but that mighjt do it

daddio
08-31-2004, 07:29 AM
sounds like bad bearings, or look real close at your swing arm for any lines that look like someone wrote on it with a pencil. if you find some, your swingarm is cracking.

JHF219
08-31-2004, 09:39 AM