PDA

View Full Version : best suspension set-up for 400ex?

DaleJrFan
08-21-2004, 08:21 AM
i have a stock 02 400ex, the first thing i want to do is beef up the suspension before i dive off in to the motor,i am pretty new to the sport side of atv's though i have had utilitys for years. what are the best things to start off doing and i need help in the terminoligy dept like what does +2 a/swing arms do? a little help would go a long way-thanx

MotoX3
08-21-2004, 09:18 AM
well....plus 2 arms r nice....i would get those from a good company(i dont ride quads...i dont know all the brands...ask around)get a decent set of shocks(ive always here rezzys er nothing)...a longer swinger isnt really necsesarry(sp)....but hey if you got the green go for it...:macho
Edit:re read your post....+2 arms would make your quad 4(i think)inches wider total...because they add 2 inches on each side...and a +2 swinger would just make your swingarm 2 inches longer....somebody correct me if im wrong on the a arms deal....:macho

roostin_dale
08-21-2004, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by DaleJrFan
i have a stock 02 400ex, the first thing i want to do is beef up the suspension before i dive off in to the motor,i am pretty new to the sport side of atv's though i have had utilitys for years. what are the best things to start off doing and i need help in the terminoligy dept like what does +2 a/swing arms do? a little help would go a long way-thanx

+2 a-arms give you more stability. You will need some new shocks for wider a-arms.

A long swingarm also gives you more stability. Depending on how well the quads weight is ballanced depends on how much you lengthen it. and im not sure with the 400ex.

If your racing MX and open spaces get some Houser +2 A-arms and Elka Tripple rate shocks with rezzies..probably around $1,400 depending on which elka's you get...

If your into woods riding and tighter spaces get some +1 a-arms, so you fit through the trees better.