PDA

View Full Version : ZPS/SSD/zero preload question???

Cody_300ex
07-27-2004, 12:14 PM
Im not a shock expert so how can I tell shocks are zps, zero preload, or ssd? Like what should I look in pictures of shocks?

Cody_300ex
07-28-2004, 12:17 AM
bump

boogiechile
07-28-2004, 07:02 AM
They will have a very soft spring on top the collapses fully when the quad is sitting on the ground. zps, zero preload, and ssd shocks are all different names for the same thing.

Cody_300ex
07-28-2004, 11:19 AM
i bet it has to have at least a triple spring rate huh? :(

muff
07-28-2004, 11:45 AM
Originally posted by Lil_300Ex_Kid
i bet it has to have at least a triple spring rate huh? :(

i believe the tcs dual rate fronts have zps, and others as well. the axis rear shock that i had was a dual rate (not zps) but it still sagged a few inches anyways. all depends on the setup of the shock i guess.

kicken250x
07-28-2004, 07:29 PM
as long as ive been looking and posting on this site and through all the posts about it ive never understood the concept of zps/ssd shocks? it seems kind of dumb to me....i know it gets your bike lower for better cornering and such but it takes away from the up travel of the shock...? is there something im missing here? the only reason i see having it for is cornering?

muff
07-28-2004, 07:57 PM
it may seem like it takes away from the shock travel, but the shock can still soak up just as much. Having up travel is good as well, say you hit a bump and the quad gets kicked, with stock or nonzps shocks you'll quad will be off the ground, with zps shocks your wheels will be able to extend down to still get contact.