PDA

View Full Version : New to me 400ex is leaking fuel

brus01psd
07-19-2004, 09:13 PM
I've got a 01 400ex, had only about a month runs great but pisses fuel out the little hose from the bottom of the carb. I am new to riding , new to forum, any help would be appreciated

Fuchs42
07-19-2004, 09:17 PM
when does it do this? it is normal to do during or a little after a wheelie becuase the float goes unlevel causing an excess amount of gas to go into the carb and overflow.....

brus01psd
07-19-2004, 09:22 PM
It leaks all the time, idling, or just sitting with the fuel off.

Bill Fuller
07-19-2004, 09:27 PM
Time to clean the carb,something is sticking.Sounds like the float is sticking.

Fuchs42
07-19-2004, 09:29 PM
Ok, your problem is most likely the float is stuck try hitting the carb lightly with something like rubber or the end of a hammer, if that doesnt work, take the carb off and clean it out....

Xowner
07-19-2004, 09:29 PM
hit the carb with the plastic part of a screw driver sounds liek a float stuck or you may have dirt in the carb take it off and clean it

Fuchs42
07-19-2004, 09:30 PM
Well i guess bill got to it first lol

brus01psd
07-19-2004, 09:33 PM
Yeah, I have noticed a stumble during hard accleration too. Anyone use inline filters? seems like a good idea.

Fuchs42
07-19-2004, 09:37 PM
I've never used em, but I try to keep clean fuel in my machines. If it is dirty on the bottom of the tank, take the tank off or drain it and make sure no grit runs through the carb. It would still be a good idea to take the carb off and spray it out with some carb cleaner, make sure everything is working properly.

Bill Fuller
07-19-2004, 09:37 PM
The stumbling sounds more like a jetting issue.I never used an inline filter,but I think it would help.........some.There is a screen in the pitcock.

ewalker302
07-20-2004, 12:36 AM