PDA

View Full Version : New Here... 400ex won't start... couple ??

alexf4i
07-12-2004, 12:48 PM
Hey.. i'm new here and new to the quad scene. I've been riding sportbikes for a few years tho... Anyway, here goes my story, hopefully someone can help me out.

I bought a 2002 400ex a few weeks ago. Thing ran great when i tested it out at the guys house. Brought it home, it fired right up. Used it about a week later.. no problems. Then i decided to try out a twist throttle instead of the thumb throttle. Went out and bought a Motion Pro twist throttle and cable. Slapped that bad boy on and started up the 400ex. It ran, but the idle was really high and the headers were turning bright red. It was late that night, so i put her away until the next day. I go out the next day and adjust the throttle cable down by the carb cause it wasn't fully in. Now the throttle cable seems to be looser, cause it was tight the night before. I try to start the quad up, but now it just cranks but doesn't turn over.

I did a search on this board and found a few things to try, but had no luck. I played with the choke.. tried with it on/off/ and in the middle. Messed with the idle screw a little bit.. still nothing. Even played with the air/fuel screw. turned it 2 1/4-3 turns out... nothing. I checked all the connections made sure everything was tight, and checked to make sure there was no clog in the gas tank.. everything seems ok. The only thing i haven't tried is the spark plug. You guys think i might have fouled it by messing with the throttle cable so much? I'm gonna try that next, but i wanted to see if anyone had any other tips for me in case the plug doesn't work.

Sorry this damn post is so long, but i'm trying to be as clear as possible. Oh, this 400ex is bone stock. Thanks to everyone that reads this.. i know it's long... :D

-Al

zephead400ex
07-12-2004, 01:11 PM
First off, welcome to the siteL)