PDA

View Full Version : milling the head on a 400ex?

waytooslow
07-10-2004, 08:23 PM
I want to mill the head on my 400ex, how much material can I remove safely?

Florida400EX
07-10-2004, 08:52 PM
Don't bother milling the head. Just use XR400 gaskets, that will get the head just about as low as you would want it.

F-16Guy
07-11-2004, 09:46 PM
Originally posted by waytooslow
I want to mill the head on my 400ex, how much material can I remove safely?
What you really want to do is deck the cylinder. The piston sits a little low in the hole when using a piston with stock wrist pin location. You want have about 0.040 deck height including compressed gasket thickness. This will reduce the squish area between the edge of the piston and the head, which helps force the fuel/air charge toward the center of the combustion chamber. I'm not an expert engine builder, but I'm pretty sure the effects are: more complete and efficient burning of the fuel/air mixture, and better flame travel in the combustion chamber which allows a higher compression ratio with a given octane fuel due to the lower combustion chamber temperatures. Decking will also raise the compression ratio slightly. Milling the head will only raise the compression, not affect the deck height.

ill_lil_romey
07-11-2004, 10:41 PM
If you eleminate the base gasket and use a xr head gasket, it should get you the perfect squish area with most pistons.

F-16Guy
07-12-2004, 05:34 PM
Originally posted by ill_lil_romey
If you eleminate the base gasket and use a xr head gasket, it should get you the perfect squish area with most pistons.
You can do it that way and get pretty close, but I'm a little leary about using gasket maker anywhere near the oil passage. If any squeeze-out partially blocked the passage, or even one of the holes in the cam lobe, it could be trouble. If I were going to do it, I'd do it right.

waytooslow
07-12-2004, 05:58 PM