PDA

View Full Version : I am tired of getting spanked...

waytooslow
07-05-2004, 05:07 PM
My friend has a 400z with a full curtis sparks race exhaust and jet kit and when we race he walks away from me. In a 1/4 mile he usually beats me by 4 quad lengths. Do you guys have problems beating the 400z in a race? This is what I have done to my 400ex:

Full FMF exhaust
165 main jet
curtis sparks 6 degree timing advance
K and N air filter
Air box lid mod (has a 3 inch hole in it)
Hot Cam stage 2
10:1 high compression piston

I do have 1 inch bigger diameter tires in the front with the .190 wall thickness, could that really be slowing me down?

I need help!

CEET400ex
07-05-2004, 05:14 PM
It sounds to me that you shoudnt have much trouble beating him with those mods. But hey im no expert

Toadz400
07-05-2004, 06:06 PM
He shouldn't be beating you by that much, I'd say it's rider error. Improve on your take-offs and shifting techniques down.

waytooslow
07-05-2004, 06:29 PM
Rider error shouldn't be a problem because we are doing 2nd gear roll-ons. Basically we are showing all engine.

skidaddyjr
07-05-2004, 06:46 PM
You might nock a tooth or two off the rear cog!

Sc0
07-05-2004, 06:50 PM
Don't feel bad a bone stock Z400 beat my KFX which had a jet kit, full Yoshi RS-3, Pro-Flow foam air filter, Razr2's with Hipers, and Hotcams Stage2.... (stage 2 kit is both cams)

This Bone stock Z also won multiple races with a 440EX and a Predator 500, it even beat a 250R trike. With a different riders on my quad the race was closer but the stock Z400 still won... So don't feel bad at all, it's just one of those things that the factory gets right every now and then. You can change your gearing so that you get the holeshot or pull on him at the end... that gives you a legitimate excuse about why you can't win. (I would redo the jetting though and do full plug chops, every bike is different and the jetting might be off a wee-bit...

Cody_300ex
07-05-2004, 07:05 PM
Originally posted by Sc0