PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding My 1st 4-Stroke Engine...HELP ME !!! PLEASE

660r2a400ex
05-29-2004, 11:45 PM
Hey I am a young teen and i have no experience with a four stroke engine. My 400ex started smoking super bad and later was blowing oil out the tale pipe. Why is this ? I figured I had blown the rings. It still started good and ran strong although I had noticed power loss. Well i bought a hi-compression piston and a hot cam, took my whole bike apart got the engine out, took off the head first, took the cam sprocket thing off and the chain, pulled the cam out, and took the cylinder off. took my stock piston off and now here i am, i am gonna put everything back to gether and i remember how to do it, but...how to i get my timing right and what steps should i take on rebuilding my 400ex. just throw the piston and cam in and run it or clean everything redo my valves and timing or what?

Martin Blair
05-30-2004, 12:00 AM
Ok first off take that piston and your cylender to get honed to match. They need to remove the ring lip left buy the stock piston from the sleeve. Call a local bike shop they can help you find a place to bore it, if there no ones close to you I recomend GT thunder, TC racing, or FST if your on the east coast. And LRD or Sparks on the west side. Call them they can help with honing and mathcing piston/sleeve. This is very important if you dont do this you will be taking it apart all over again.

To fix the cam/timing problem get a manual, you can pick them up for about 25 bucks. Thats the best way, if you cant fingure it out find a bike shop, or your dealer if they are good. If theres no one near it would be better to either find someone near who knows, or send it off, its expensive but will save you in the long run. Just buy the manual.

You should have posted here prior to your starting, your leak problem could also be caused buy valve sea, did it go away when it got warmed up?