PDA

View Full Version : Shifting w/o clutch

03-21-2002, 10:44 AM
I'm no mechanic by any means and have read several posts that some individuals upshift without utilizing the clutch to get through the gears faster. Does anyone know for a fact if this presents a problem with clutch or motor long/short term? What about downshifting?

03-21-2002, 10:55 AM
When I'm racing with my buddies, I'm not using the clutch... I don't believe it to be good for the gearbox, but I also don't think it's bad for it... My father before me, raced competively on bikes for years and years, and never destroyed a gearbox, I guess that means it's stood the test of time...

I wouldn't do it on a Suzuki though, they're junk... HA!

MadcapEX
03-21-2002, 11:01 AM
I was always told upshifting is no problem but use the clutch when downshifting. I dont use the clutch when I really want to shift quick,draggin or ridin wheelies,but when riding normal I use it. Even when I dont use it I blip the throttle as I shift.

03-21-2002, 11:10 AM
I'd say that's good advice!

Ya, definitely blip yer throttle while running the gears.

Madcap is right, use the clutch when you're not bootin' it, save it for schooling your buddies that don't know any better!

Sparky416ex
03-21-2002, 01:39 PM
it wont hurt it just use clutch while downshifting

03-21-2002, 02:45 PM
thanks guys for your input! Anyone else with knowledge of this?

ChadEXer
03-21-2002, 03:14 PM