PDA

View Full Version : Who knows how to take off Right crankcase cover on 400ex? I need it in detail...

Silver400EXinBR
05-14-2004, 04:31 PM
Well, you see where the arrow is pointing? Well a bolt is broke off in there....
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid115/p99693a04b9606b4683fb32562ebc4477/f8c597f6.jpg
Now, Can someone please tell me step by step on what I need to do to remove the clutch cable, well thats common sense, but what I mean is afterI take all the bolts out the case and the 2 lines running in it, How do you remove where the clutch cable goes into the case and wherever it attaches to in there.. I am a mechanic at a dealership, I know cars but have never messed with a 4 wheeler motor, I am sureI could figure it out but I dont want to break anything when I can get you guys help... So, if you would please give me a good detailed list on what I need to do to get the cover off to where I can try and get the bolt out. nd is there any special ways to get the cover back on after putting the new gasket. Thanks alot with all the info you all give me... Thanks alot Randy

Doibugu2
05-14-2004, 04:42 PM
buy yourself a repair manual. Even if someone gives you detailed instructions it won't be as good as a repair manual.

Besides you will use it for more than just this.

(you can download one off the net if you can find it)

Silver400EXinBR
05-14-2004, 04:52 PM
well, I kind of wantd to take if out tommorrow morning and cant get to the city to go get one, I am going get one for sure thi week coming up but i just needs yall help for this one time.... And possibly but i doubt yall would do is posting pictures would be very helpful too,,, Thanks randy

44oEX
05-14-2004, 05:31 PM
all you have to do is drain the oil. take out all the bolts and oil lines. unhook the clutch cable and pull out the cover. it could need a little help from a rubber hammer. cause they seal up pretty good

44oEX
05-14-2004, 05:35 PM