PDA

View Full Version : HELP - I need some facts.

.:01_eXrIdEr:.
05-11-2004, 06:50 PM
My dad wants me to quit racing, I race in the C class on a 400ex. I have been riding for 4 years and I have only raced once. My dad came upon an article put out by the press saying how ATVs are dangerous and kill children, which I know is a problem. My whole family rides, my dad on a sportsman 700, my brother and mom both on ranchers. After reading the article my dad decides that I can't race any more. I tried telling him it was unfair because he lets my little brother play football, basketball, soccer, and baseball. I only want to do one thing, and that is have fun and race my quad. I know it isn't my place to tell him what I will or won't do because he was the one that bought the quad so he has say over what I can or can't do on it. I just need some facts. The article was talking about how many people a year die in ATV related accidents, and I need to find out how many people die or get injured in Football, Baseball, Basketball, or Soccer. I just want to put up a somewhat valid argument towards him so he will see my point. What should I say to him to make him understand me.

LTandRaptorider
05-11-2004, 06:53 PM
Well, the facts are those sports, with the possible exception of baseball, are more dangerous than ATV racing. But a worried parent may not be interested in those facts, rather more interested in your well-being. Don't push him on it, and he may change his mind.

2001400ex
05-11-2004, 06:55 PM
Show him the strict guidelines you have to follow before you race, and all the equipment that is mandatory you wear, that might help him think otherwise...?

TheFontMaster
05-11-2004, 07:06 PM