PDA

View Full Version : first step to suspension?

PHIL_B54
05-03-2004, 07:47 PM
im new to the suspensions area and ive looked thru all 12 pages of this forum and really havent got a solid answer to my question.

to someone looking into suspension, where is the starting point? like you have to have a pipe/filter/jets as the first step for more power. what is the first step of suspension? fronts? rear?

I ride trails and open feilds and terraces, and someday i would like to do a harescramble, and this summer i am planning on going to a local MX.

I cant see spending a crazy amout of cash on shocks that i will never even come close to using their full potential, but i can see that there could be some advantage on getting some shocks.

I thank you for any input you may have

PHIL_B54
05-03-2004, 08:49 PM
maybe i need to clearify/narrow down my question.

if you could only do 1 would it be front or rear? why? or is it best to do both. Do I need to be able to adjust them? Money is an issue and I want the best quality/performance i can justyify for the cash

300exOH
05-04-2004, 07:39 AM
I would say that doing front and rear together would be best otherwise you'll get a mismatch and ill handling. I don't think the adjustability is necessary for the average rider as long as the shocks are built specifically for the rider and riding style. I would recommend non adjustable Elka's over adjustable Works any day. My Elka's only have preload adj. and they are unbelievable. The Works are better than stock though. Just make sure the shocks you buy are built FOR YOU and the type of riding you do and you'll be much happier than with stock shocks.

toby400ex
05-04-2004, 08:09 AM
For a 400ex some good front shocks would be the first step. THe rear shock can be adjusted to work pretty good for the average rider. If you dont want to spend alot of money right now get some elka recreational shocks for about $500, later on you can add adjustable rezzies.

PHIL_B54
05-04-2004, 09:18 AM