PDA

View Full Version : elka shocks?

cals400ex
04-29-2004, 12:52 AM
i am kind of new to the whole aftermarket shocks. i am interested in the elka shocks from what i read. i have a few questions.

does elka make anything better than the dual rate, ssd, rezzy rears? are all of these adjustable with these options? i hear these are great shocks. i realize you can get the new spring and piece where you mount the shock to get more travel and better operation. i will worry about that later.

also, what is up with some rezzy's mounted on the shocks themselves and other rezzy's have the lines for front shocks? i do a little bit of everything as far as riding and i have been looking at tripple rate, ssd, with rezzy's. these sound good or is others better? i will end up getting new a arms, probably +1's or +2's at the most.

any advice or suggestions would be great. cal

Silverfox@C&DRacing
04-29-2004, 09:37 AM
as for the rear shock it is fully adjustable with the ssd (can't get much better than that:). They say the linkage goes great with that shock (not a must but very benificial)

As for the fronts piggyback (mounted on the shock) or remote ressivor (has the lines) it is just personal preference on what style you like. I have the piggybacks they are pretty convenient when you take the shock off the bike.

The compression adj shock is nice to have if you do all types of riding. One day you trailride you can back the compression off for a smoother ride, next day you ride mx you can crank the compression back up for the jumps.

I started out with the economy no ressivor, they got the job done but now that I have compression adj ones I won't go back:)

hope this helps a little

Ex'r Marlin
04-29-2004, 11:02 AM
If you are thinking of getting a full set of aftermarket shocks, front and rear, and are thinking about the "Elka rear suspension link", I highly recommend getting it with your new shock order.