ATV Riders Message Board Articles Reviews Videos Photo Gallery wallpaper Links ATV SxS News Interviews Racing News Models Donations Quad of the Month Contact Us

ATV MX Championship
Sunset Ridge MX
Walnut, IL
June 17, 2017

AMA ATV Motocross Championship

Chad Wienen Takes Sunset Ridge Pro ATV MX Win
Joel Hetrick & Jeffrey Rastrelli Round Out the Pro ATV MX Podium

Walnut, IL (6/18/2017) - Hot and humid weather conditions greeted the racers of the Wiseco ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, as they competed at round six, yesterday, June 17. Threatening rain showers held off, making for a great day of racing as fans witnessed Chad Wienen take his Wienen Motorsports/SSi Decals/Walsh Racecraft/Yamaha/Maxxis/7240-backed machine to the middle of the podium.
Pro ATV MX Podium
Pro ATV Motocross Podium (left to right)
Joel Hetrick (2nd), Chad Wienen (1st), Jeffrey Rastrelli (3rd)

Wienen kicked off the day earning the Fastest Qualifier Award, but when the gate dropped for the first moto it was Maxxis/Elka/Liquid Wrench/Honda’s Joel Hetrick out front with the early lead and the SSi Decals Holeshot Award. JB Racing/Root River Racing’s Jeffrey Rastrelli capitalized on his good start and took the lead position from Hetrick by the completion of the opening lap.

Joel Hetrick ATV Motocross
In Moto One, Joel Hetrick claimed the SSi Decals Holeshot Award in Moto One

Wienen got off to a not so favorable start, and quickly got to work where he rode behind Hetrick by only the third lap. Rastrelli, Hetrick and Wienen continued a tight race, where the trio were wheel-to-wheel. Hetrick made the push for the lead at the halfway point of the race, and Wienen got around Rastrelli shortly after. The frontrunners kept a close distance and a steady pace, with Hetrick taking the win just seven seconds ahead of Wienen and Rastrelli.

Chad Wienen ATV MX

Chad Wienen went 2-1 for the overall win at Sunset Ridge ATV MX

Root River Racing’s Josh Upperman kicked off the second moto with the SSi Decals Holeshot award. Rastrelli found himself back up in the front, right behind Upperman. Hetrick and Wienen sat inside the top-five, but had to work their way up to the leaders on the first lap, by the second lap Hetrick was able to secure the lead position with Rastrelli in tow. Wienen applied the pressure to them for the first half of the race and took command of the lead with only five laps remaining.

Josh Upperman ATV Motocross
Josh Upperman grabbed his first SSi Decals Holeshot Award of the season in the second moto

Hetrick wasn’t willing to settle for second and focused on making the pass back, but ran out of time. Wienen took the second moto win, just one second ahead of Hetrick. Wienen also earned the overall win, while Hetrick took the runner-up position. After stalling his quad in the first moto, GennUSA Racing’s Nick Gennusa rebounded for a 7-3 moto score to finish just off the overall podium in fourth. Rastrelli went 3-4 for fourth overall and Root River Racing/CST Tires/Pro Motorsports-backed Thomas Brown rounded out the top five with a 4-6 moto tally.

Jeffrey Rastrelli ATV MX

Jeffrey Rastrelli demonstrated that he has what it takes to be a champion, by leading over half of the first moto

ATVMX racing action returns to Millville, Minnesota on July 1 for the Spring Creek ATVMX National. A highlight show featuring this weekend’s event will air on MAVTV on Saturday, August 12.

2017 AMA ATV Motocross Race Results
Round 6 - Sunset Ridge MX
Pro ATV Motocross Overall Race Results:
  1. Chad Wienen (2-1)
  2. Joel Hetrick (1-2)
  3. Jeffrey Rastrelli (3-4)
  4. Nick Gennusa (7-3)
  5. Thomas Brown (4-6)
  6. Josh Upperman (5-7)
  7. Ronnie Higgerson (8-5)
  8. Westley Wolfe (6-8)
  9. Parker Wewerka (11-9)
  10. Sam Rowe (10-11)

Pro ATV Motocross Points Standing:

  1. Chad Wienen (255)
  2. Joel Hetrick (248)
  3. Jeffrey Rastrelli (202)
  4. Thomas Brown (195)
  5. Nick Gennusa (187)
  6. Ronnie Higgerson (169)
  7. Josh Upperman (157)
  8. Parker Wewerka (143)
  9. Westley Wolfe (120)
  10. Brett Musick (104)
SSi Decals Holeshot Award Standings:
  1. Joel Hetrick (10)
  2. Cole Sepesi (2)
  3. Josh Upperman (2)
  4. Sam Rowe (2)
  5. Chad Wienen (1) Top Qualifier Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (3)
  2. Chad Wienen (3)


AMA ATV Motocross Logo

Copyright 2002-2013, ATV Riders All Rights Reserved - ATV Riders Forum - Message Board - Archive