ATV Riders Message Board Articles Reviews Videos Photo Gallery wallpaper Links ATV SxS News Interviews Racing News Models Donations Quad of the Month Contact Us

2016 AMA ATV Motocross
Round #7 Sunset Ridge MX
Walnut, IL
June 18, 2016

AMA ATV Motocros Racing

Joel Hetrick Takes Fifth Straight Pro ATV MX Win
Chad Wienen & David Haagsma rounded out Pro ATV Motocross Podium

Walnut, IL (6/20/2016) – The 2016 ProX ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, continued this past weekend, June 18, at the popular Sunset Ridge MX Park in Walnut, Illinois. With perfect race conditions, the world's fastest ATV racers were able to fully showcase their talents for the large fan base with Maxxis/Elka Suspension/Liquid Wrench's Joel Hetrick going 2-1 for the overall win.
Pro ATV Motocross Podium
Sunset Ridge - Round 7 - Pro ATV Motocross Podium (left to right)
Chad Wienen (2nd), Joel Hetrick (1st), David Haagsma (3rd)

The Top Qualifier Award went to Wienen Motorsports/Yamaha/Maxxis/SSi Decals/Walsh Racecraft/FLY Racing's Chad Wienen who turned the fastest lap time during the timed qualifying sessions. Wienen looked to use that speed to take a win in front of his hometown friends and family.

Chad Wienen ATV Motocross

Chad Wienen claimed the Top Qualifier Award

When the gate dropped signifying the start of the first moto, Maxxis/FLY Racing/Baldwin Motorsports' John Natalie jumped out to the early lead claiming the SSi Decals Holeshot Award. However, Wienen would quickly take over the lead by the second turn, with Hetrick charging hard in second.

John Natalie Jr ATV Motocross

Maxxis' John Natalie jr grabbed the Moto One Holeshot

By the second lap, JB Racing/Root River Racing/Gold Speed Tires' Jeffrey Rastrelli had worked his way into the third place position. The top three racers would maintain their consistency for the remainder of the moto with Wienen crossing the line victorious and Hetrick and Rastrelli following in second and third.

Koster Racing/Blommel Motorsports/Walsh Racecraft's Brett Musick earned the SSi Decals Holeshot award in the second moto, but Hetrick and Wienen would capitalize on their favorable start and pass Musick by the conclusion of the first lap.

Maxxis/Liquid Wrench/Elka Suspension/Honda's David Haagsma would be running one of his best races in third, until being accompanied by AGX Designs/Walsh Racecraft/Maxxis' Nick Gennusa. The 2015 Rookie of the Year took command of the third place position on the fourth lap. Much like Haagsma, Gennusa found himself running one of the best races of his professional career.

David Haagsma ATV Motocross

Maxxis' David Haagsma scored his first Pro ATV MX Podium finish

::Page 1:: 2

Copyright 2002-2013, ATV Riders All Rights Reserved - ATV Riders Forum - Message Board - Archive